Legislation is pending to reduce minor marijuana possession penalties.
Under current law, possession of any amount is a misdemeanor that carries up to 6 months in jail and a $ 1,000 fine if convicted by a plea or trial.
Senate Bill 318 amends state law so that marijuana possession offenses (up to 10 grams) are reduced to a civil offense, punishable by a fine of $ 100.
The policy proposed by this bill is line with those of numerous other states, including Nebraska and Ohio. Such a change will save taxpayers money and allow police and the courts to re-prioritize their resources toward addressing more serious crimes.
Minor marijuana possession offenders, many of them young people, should not be saddled with a criminal record and the lifelong penalties and stigma associated with it.
Please contact you elected officials in support of reducing marijuana possession penalties.